Writing God-in-a-Box=Falling in Love Again

I just realized that I have passed the half-way mark in my Jesus’ Blog, God-in-a-Box–Your Inbox!  (http://www.Godhelps.net)

A huge commitment, yes, to take a book that synthesizes the four gospels, bringing out both the humanity and divinity of Jesus in the setting of a cosmic war, put it into today’s language and syntax, and using half the words, deliver it in 200 word bytes for busy people.

It’s been a challenge, but I wanted you to have the experience I had when I read the book–falling in love with Jesus.

I felt the same way when I saw the movie Matthew, a word for word account of Matthew’s gospel from the NIV– the one Guideposts sponsored. Then Jesus became so full of life, so real, so joyful.

I thought I knew Jesus and the scriptures–especially those about Him. But I have learned so much.

I have gained so much appreciation for his humanity, his strength, his gentleness, his patience, his dependence.

I am just starting down the road of his suffering– a year before his death. He is trying to get his disciples to listen. He longs to share that the path laid out for him is not the one they want or expect. He knows how they will suffer if they don’t get this, but they just can’t wrap their minds around it, can’t hear him.

Consequently, He faces the hardest part of his life feeling very alone.

I feel so honored to be allowed to do this, to feel called to it. Scripture has opened up and I am sure will become richer and clearer yet.

Come along and see what happens for you. I recommend reading it slowly a couple of times, letting your imagination see it and feel it.  http://www.Godhelps.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

