Guest Post for Valentines from Ann of A Thousand Gifts

How to Really Write a Love Letter

When I opened the first letter you ever sent me, I was fifteen and the snow was chest high in that village up in the Quebec mountains where I tried to learn how to ski and speak French and make poutine, all of which I only mangled.

I tore open into your envelope right there at the post office.

I read your lines five times walking the snow piled streets back to the school, my mouth agape, a door swinging wide open in surprise, the bitter blue February burning my lungs.

You had sent me words.

Over twenty years I have kept your shy lines, the years I have kept your sons and your daughters, the years you have kept me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

