Perspective on the Border Crisis

I loved a comment I heard this morning and wanted to share it with you. One of my friends told us about Southwest Key-the program that is hiring 450 people for the 500 displaced kids housed at the Port Huneme Naval base. Another friend commented, “Now that’s military intelligence! The group laughed and was appreciative.

My husband told me later today that Obama is criticized for his handling of the border crisis–closing the borders.

My response was “Of course, we can’t have every stressed and distressed parent sending their kids to enter our country illegally. And that will be the trend, now that there is precedent for how we have welcomed them.” But then I heard that Obama didn’t even go to the border. And that is the main criticism.

Interesting.

I’d have thought he should go, been compassionate but firm.

My husband thinks he knew he couldn’t resist seeing more kids and not take them in. He doesn’t have the power; it belongs to Congress and he doesn’t need more of a fight with them… Besides he has shown his compassion already.

Could you go look at thousands of would-be-abused kids and say, “We can’t take them”? Knowing it isn’t feasable, and yet also knowing they will be victims of sex trade and gang violence? Some of them falling prey to drug cartels, some of them made into sex slaves. Your heart would pull at you, and you would not be able to get their faces out of your mind.

I don’t know that I could do it. And I am not a highly compassionate person. Meaning I don’t often get pulled in by emotion. Of course there are times, but I believe that people need their own pain–have said it many times. And we are hard-wired for struggle. It’s a great former of character.

I’ve even began to wonder if I want to live right next to my grandchildren and watch them struggle. It’s hard to watch people you love struggle.

And if you have a large, compassionate heart, it’s hard to watch anyone, especially children, struggle against seemingly insurmountable odds.

I may be wrong, but I can see why he didn’t go. It may have been cowardly, it may look cold and hard, it may have been political suicide, but maybe he just knew he couldn’t.

There is something to be said for knowing yourself and your limits.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

