Death by Complaining

So I took the bait for a 14 day challenge. No, it’s not about food, it’s about not saying anything critical. Not even constructive criticism. If I do I have to start over until I get 14 days. One of my friends is reading a book that suggested it, and I thought it sounded like a good thing for me to do.

I’m sure it was a good idea, because I’ve already had to start over once, and it has kept me from saying several things today, making my closest relationship more pleasant. And just now I had a thought that was almost verbal, but no one heard it, do I have to start over? If it had been toward me I would think, yes. But since it was a general thought heard by no one…I’m giving myself a pass. Is that cheating? I don’t think so. You can’t believe how hard it is to monitor, even notice, when you are going to say something critical.

Am I more critical than most people? Maybe, melancholy-dominant personalities can be, I suppose. But even if I am, it amazes me how critical we are as people. I’ve been impressed that this is true in my writing of Exodus, also. It started with being impressed how contagious complaining is. It seemed one of them started it, and it spread faster than a wild fire in dry grass–to even the faithful. There didn’t seem to be any, or at least not enough, positive people to turn it around. It kept them out of their destined promised land! Everyone over 20!

Does that give anyone, besides me, pause? It must be like the worst disease there is. It must be worse than cancer, which devastates the body, weakening it so much that the treatment takes out the immune system!

I mean, think about it: God’s plan was to take them in. He wanted to take them in. He could have fulfilled His promise to Abraham. Think how disappointed He was! And forgiveness is the easiest thing He does! Had they so weakened themselves that they couldn’t go in even if He did it for them? He had told them He would do it for them all along.

I don’t get it yet. Stay tuned, I’m sure I will. There is just something about it that doesn’t make sense on the surface. But what it does say is complaining and criticizing is so destructive to us and our relationships that it takes us to unbelief and then failure of our best dreams and goals. Wow!  So bad that God can’t even do what He wants to do for us! That’s heavy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

