What is God Really Like?

I had a dream a year ago that was pure feel good. I was in heaven, I think. Everything was very bright. Just the lighting itself was incredible! And the feelings! I felt like I could do or be anything–feeling truly me. The people were amazing. So shining and smiling. So unbelievably welcoming and gracious. I felt totally wanted there, totally accepted and loved. I met someone who was the leader. He didn’t look like Jesus, but He was. He was amazing. Everyone wanted to spend time with him. His presence felt so freeing, so satisfying. I never wanted to leave there. And then I woke up and wanted to go back. It is hard to put the feelings into words.

Writing Exodus has made me hungry to experience God. Moses had 40 days and nights in His presence! What would that be like? I attempted to write the feelings he had that morning. “Moses wakes up excited, today I am going up the mountain to meet with God!”  What thoughts he must have had!  He had felt the ground shake and heard the huge voice the day before. And he had to wait six days on the edge of the cloud with Joshua so he wouldn’t be consumed by the energy. What if he had thought this is taking way too long. I’ve got to get back to work.

Do you have a time when it’s just you and God? Have you experienced the good feelings that come in His presence? It can take time, but it’s so worth it. Is anything really more important?

I think it was a gift God wanted to give him. He had a hard job! Moses in the mountain with God didn’t eat or drink for 40 days because he didn’t need to. I’m sure he didn’t even think about it. From the bottom, the Israelites perspective, it looked like the mountain was on fire. Talk about lighting! His face shone so much they couldn’t look at him! It must have been hard to come back.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

